Minnesota AgriGrowth to Host Largest Gathering of Governor Candidates

Leading Minnesota agribusiness and food production association to feature top tier candidates for governor from both parties at Annual Meeting & Conference

St. Paul, MN – Minnesota AgriGrowth Council (AgriGrowth) is holding its Annual Meeting and Conference Thursday, November 9th. AgriGrowth’s Annual Meeting and Conference is the pinnacle gathering of leaders from the production agriculture, agribusiness and food production community in Minnesota, and is known for excellent networking opportunities, renowned speakers and access to the top minds of policy, business and agriculture. This year’s conference will add a special and timely new feature, as AgriGrowth has invited candidates from both political parties running for governor to address Minnesota’s largest agriculture community and share their views on agriculture, agribusiness and our state’s economy.

“We’re pleased with the number of governor candidates who have already confirmed their attendance at this candidate forum. Attendees to AgriGrowth’s annual conference will have the first opportunity that we’re aware of to see this many candidates from both parties at one event,” said Perry Aasness, AgriGrowth Executive Director. The Governor Candidate Forum will provide prominent candidates from both sides of the aisle an opportunity to share with attendees why they are running to be Minnesota’s next Governor, and what their priorities would be to help support and enhance the business climate for Minnesota’s agriculture and food sector – the second largest sector of Minnesota’s economy.  “It’s important for our next governor to understand the critical issues and challenges affecting production agriculture and agribusiness across the state of Minnesota,” Aasness continued, “AgriGrowth’s Annual Conference will be a great opportunity for candidates to share their vision and ideas, and for our members to ask questions important to their industry.”

Confirmed Governor candidates include:

  • Representative Erin Murphy (DFL)
  • Representative Matt Dean (GOP)
  • Former Chair of the MN GOP Keith Downey (GOP)
  • Hennepin County Commissioner Jeff Johnson (GOP)
  • Senator Dave Osmek (GOP)
  • Representative Paul Thissen (DFL)
  • State Auditor Rebecca Otto (DFL)

Minnesota AgriGrowth Annual Meeting                                Governor Candidate Panel
Minneapolis Convention Center                                           Minneapolis Convention Center
Time: 9:00 am – 4:30pm                                                      Time: 3:15 – 4:40 PM
Date: Thursday November 9th                                              Date: Thursday November 9th
AgriGrowth’s annual meeting and conference is open to both members and non-members.  The full conference agenda and registration information can be found at:  www.agrigrowth.org


The Minnesota AgriGrowth Council is a nonprofit, nonpartisan member organization representing the agriculture and food systems industry.  Formed in 1968, AgriGrowth’s strategic approach to public policy advocacy, issues management and collaboration seeks to foster long-term sustainability, competitiveness, and business growth. More information can be found at agrigrowth.org or by following AgriGrowth’s Twitter account at @mn_agrigrowth


© 2018 AgriGrowth
Follow us: